A Primer

There are over 80 species of whales and dolphins, inhabiting every ocean (and some rivers) of the world. They all have one thing in common: each species has specific areas that are especially important to their wellbeing - including feeding grounds, breeding areas and migratory corridors.

The Important Cetacean Area (ICA) program aims to identify and map these areas.


Inspired by Important Bird Areas


This is a project of Pacific WildLife Foundation, 2013.

Contact us with comments at:

Photo credits